Jane Eyre

I saw Jane Eyre last week, which stars Michael Fassbender as Rochester and Mia Wasikowska as Jane, and is directed by Cary Fukunaga.  It was good in a lot of ways; beautifully shot, good acting blah blah blah, but somehow, it left me feeling vaguely unsatisfied, mainly because it ended too quickly and easily for my liking.

Warning: the synopsis below contains spoilers unless you’ve read the book in which case none of this will be a surprise. 

Jane’s all broken hearted after Rochester tried to commit bigamy with her and almost dies in a desperate attempt to escape him.  She gives it a year whereby she manages to survive and gets a job in a village school as a teacher, has a bit of a non-romance with Jamie Bell’s character, St John, (although from the way his name is pronounced in the film I thought it was Sinjin but I realise now that this was due to their rubbish Yorkshire accents) and then one day, she hears Rochester’s voice calling her across the moors.  Jane says adios to St John whose a bit annoyed because he thought he was in with a chance, and she goes back to find Rochester.  He’s now blind but she forgives him and they presumably live happily ever after although you don’t really get to see that bit because this is where the film ends.

As mentioned above, I felt that the ending came about too abruptly and swiftly considering all the torment Jane had been through.  Both Jane and Rochester had suffered enough so you think I’d be pleased they got back together, but it just felt a bit rushed, almost like Fukunaga realised he had used 2 hours portraying how awful her life was and thought, “Oh gosh is that the time?  Well I’ve got 2 minutes and not much budget left to give Jane the fairy tale ending we’ve all been waiting for.”

In some ways, Fassbender’s portrayal of Rochester irritated me as well.  On the one hand, although I think Fassbander seems suited to the role as he is a handsome chap and played Rochester with the required magnetism and charasima, I also thought he seemed a bit of a d-ck at times, unnecessarily so.  For example, in the scenes when he was mocking Jane, I think he was supposed to come across as being sardonic and cynical, but instead came across as arrogant, patronising and condescending.  I guess I was disappointed because I wish I could have fallen a bit in love with him, like I did with the book, but sadly that wasn’t to be the case with Fassbender’s version of him.

Overall, it’s ok, watchable, safe to watch with older relatives, but personally I think better versions have been made such as any of the ones by the BBC for example.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

